top of page


Mr. Smith Goes to Obscuristan

Written by Josh Kornbluth and Michael Gene Sullivan
Score by Jason Sherbundy
Lyrics by Bruce Barthol
Directed by Michael Gene Sullivan and Keiko Shimosato
Musical Direction by Jason Sherbundy

MR. SMITH featured Velina Brown, Michael Carreiro, Amos Glick, Ed Holmes, Keiko Shimosato Carreiro, and Victor Toman.

And band members Jeremy Mage, Kathy Marshall & Joel Fadness

In Mr. Smith Goes to Obscuristan the President of the United States has a problem: his well-earned reputation of using the War on Terrorism to advance corporate interests is getting in the way of his actual foreign policy - advancing corporate interests! The Administration needs to convince the world that it puts democracy before profits, and it needs an unimportant place to use as an example. So, when the President-For-Life of the tiny country of Obscuristan announces first time ever elections, the US sends 9-11 fireman hero Jeff Smith as its official Election Observer. Smith, a true believer in America as a beacon of freedom in a dark world, vows to help Obscuristan achieve American-style democracy. And when a reformist leader announces his intention to challenge for the Obscuristani presidency, it proves to Smith the enduring strength of democracy. That is, until oil is discovered in Obscuristan.

Mr. Smith Goes to Obscuristan

Poster by Spain Rodriguez

Full Summer Schedule
View Original Playbill
View the Full Company Bios
Learn More!
bottom of page